Workplace Desktop

NOTE  This topic pertains to Workplace Desktop (v8). For information about Workplace for Windows and Mac (v10), please refer to Workplace The Windows and Mac app. Not sure which version you have? Click here.

Workplace Desktop is installed on your computer and runs silently in the background. It ensures that the latest versions of your files and the files shared with you are available to you locally.

The Workplace app is also responsible for making backups of folders you have selected, if that feature is available to you. For more information on that, please refer to our Workplace app Backups tab topic.)

Projects that you store locally on your desktop or laptop are managed in your Workplace Folder. That's where the local versions of projects synced to Workplace are stored.

NOTE  If you are using Workplace Desktop v8 and if you are an administrator, you also have the option of using Local folder syncing, which allows any folder on your computer to be synced with the Workplace service, so you can sync projects to the locations most convenient for you. Refer to the Workplace Desktop folder sync.

Workplace Desktop will watch for changes to your locally stored projects as well as projects changed via Workplace Online and sync them, so your team is always working on the most recent versions of files.

Use the navigation pane to the left of this topic to explore more topics on Workplace Desktop (v8).