In Workplace, a project is the primary container for all the folders and files that are synchronized by the Workplace service. Projects create the basic organizational structure to store data and control user access so that you can manage, share, and collaborate on work more efficiently.
Projects are only accessible to the project owner until explicitly shared with other users. To learn more about sharing, refer to Manage project, folder, and file team shares
Be aware that cloud computing may be very different from other storage solutions you have used before. To ensure that you're getting the most out of the Workplace service, please familiarize yourself with the following concepts before you begin to create projects:
Folders and files behave slightly differently: the project owner or anyone with Full Access to the item can delete, undelete, and restore a file or folder.
To create a new project, refer to All Projects.
Projects that you store locally, on your desktop or laptop, are stored and managed in your Workplace Folder. That's where the local versions of projects synced to Workplace are stored.
You can also create projects here and sync them to Workplace.
NOTE If you are an administrator, you also have the option of using Local folder syncing, which allows any folder on your computer to be synced with the Workplace service, so you can sync projects to the locations most convenient for you. Refer to the Workplace Desktop folder sync
Workplace Desktop will watch for changes to your locally stored projects as well as projects changed via Workplace Online and sync them, so your team is always working on the most recent versions of files.
While projects function mostly like any other folder, a key difference is that projects cannot be deleted within the Workplace folder on your device, but only from within the Workplace Online.
If a project is deleted from within the Workplace folder, it will only stop that project from syncing, but the project will still be available within Workplace Online, on your other devices, and to colleagues who have been granted access to the project.
This principle extends to moving a project on your device: the Workplace service sees a move as a copy-then-delete. This means that moving a project into another project in the Workplace folder will result in all the data being duplicated. The project will be unsynced but will remain in the cloud, and a copy will be created in the new location.
Files and folders within projects operate in a more conventional manner: if you delete them on your device, they are deleted in Workplace Online. If you move them, they are moved in Workplace Online. Such changes are replicated across all your devices and all of the members of your team that have access to the project or folder.
The project owner or anyone with Full Access permissions to the file or folder can delete the item on their device.
Setting permissions appropriately is a highly effective way to avoid deletions that inadvertently affect other users. Refer to Manage project, folder, and file team shares.
The Workplace Mobile app can be downloaded for iOS and Android devices. This app allows you to access your projects, and view, edit, annotate, and share your files.
Workplace Mobile for iOS and Android allows you to create a new scribble (annotation), document (Word), spreadsheet (Excel), presentation (PowerPoint), note (text), photo, video, and other document types to be saved in the Workplace cloud and synchronized with all of your devices.
Simply start the Workplace Mobile app, log in to your account, and tap on the Projects button that appears on the main page.
As with Workplace Desktop, files and folders can be deleted. The project owner or anyone with Full Access permissions to the file or folder can delete the item on their device, and the deletion will remove the item from the devices of other users with access.
You cannot delete a project from a mobile device.